to do what I do…

I love what I do.  Sometimes I have to remind myself that it’s my ‘real job’!  But to enable The Husband and I to continue doing what we love, we both knew I needed to find another job that I could work into my ‘spare time’ hours.  With my back and legs healing so slowly and the pain being so inconsistent, it would be crazy to apply for another permanent contract with very structured hours, terms and conditions.

But then I had a thought.  A few years ago when Chloe was a baby I spent a couple of months selling Avon.  If I’m honest it wasn’t easy because I didn’t really have any kind of game plan and I found the area manager really unhelpful and unapproachable.  Then I caught bronchitis which developed some complications and I had to stop.  So it’s kind of easy to understand that when the thought of selling Avon floated into my brain, I wasn’t convinced to give it another go.  At first.  But then I chatted it over with The Husband and together we threw around some marketing ideas.  When I was reassured that it could work and we’d work at it together, the low risk set-up tipped the scales and we decided to give it a go at growing our own little business.  But whatever we do as a family, we lay it down first.

In Jeremiah 29:11 it says this:
 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

This scripture is used so often its easy to sweep over it and not take in the reality of it.  But God does have plans for me and those plans are good.  How amazing is that?! If we give all our hopes and dreams over to Him and choose to live in his will, there’s no safer place to be.  So with this mind-set, if our plans for Avon work well and are blessed then great! Praise God! And if they turn to dust, then through the fear and frustration we’ll still be secure in knowing that God will only position us in a place where he can bless us with his good plans over our lives.  I hope that makes sense. 

I guess all I’m saying is that we often pray that God will bless what we want him to bless, and that’s not always the same as surrendering to his perfect plans for us.

One thing we do need to do is hold up our end of the deal – and do as much as we can do.  In the book of Colossians (3:23) the writer, Paul, urges us in this and says: ” Whatever you do, do it heartily, as to the Lord and not to men,”.  I love that.  It put’s worship at the centre of our lives and gives us the opportunity to glorify God by working our backsides off.

As it happens, my new Team leader and Area Manager are both really great! We’re building up a client list already and will look to increase our ‘territory’ after the next campaign.  We’re avoiding asking people we know outright and putting them on the spot if they want to receive the Avon brochures or even look now and again – we don’t want to be placing any pressure or expectation on them.  For that reason we are simply putting the information out there, along with the option of looking through the brochures and buying Avon products.

Pushy people in sales are probably more successful, but its’ just not us.  I don’t think we’ll ever make millions, ha! So here’s my shameless plug with five quick things I love about Avon and why I’m happy to sell its’ products

(please do resist the temptation to pass straight over this – these are all my own words and opinions, not something cut and pasted from Avon literature!);

 

  1. One of the main reasons that I’m selling Avon is that I truly love the stuff.  I’m a little bit in love with the foundation I use – Magix Cashmere Finish.  Avon have a primer called Magix and this is incorporated into the foundation, so it comes out a little like mousse.  The only foundations that equal it for me is a compact foundation from Clinique and a stick foundation from Mac – both which are perhaps treble the price.  For a while now I’ve made Avon purchases through my mother-in-law who has had various reps deliver brochures but the last one stopped before Mary went to Canada and I am literally scraping the bottom of the barrel.  Next Friday (deliver day) cannot come quick enough.Avon Magix Cashmere Finish Foundation

2.         Each campaign (brochure) is always different and holds different offers.  This way it keeps  it interesting, and after one delivery I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t be interested in reading that same brochure again. 

3.        I get a hold of brochures a campaign in advance, so if there’s something specific some-one is looking for I can compare the current brochure with the upcoming one to find the best price/offer. Saving money is always awesome, right?

 

  Yes, I know that does not make good business sense because I should be wanting people to pay the highest price for products (I told you we’d not make our millions!) but I just know that I’d be over the moon if I was the customer and was looked after that way. 

4.  Christmas! Avon seriously comes into its’ own at Christmas.  Brochures are heaving with gift ideas, home decorations and festive party makeup at ridiculously great prices.  Wherever you seem to go, everything seems to be getting more and more expensive so I like it when I can find a bargain!

 

5. The ‘rep’ system works.  It enables free delivery and It creates a bridge between the customer and the products, making the whole process simple.  Customers are dealing with a real life person with a real voice, saving them from trawling a website to find a phone number and then spending forever pressing various numbers on an automated service! Man, automated services stress me out. Relax and leave the work to the representatives – you can’t get much more stress-free than that.

source

So if you live local and you’d like to receive a brochure then drop me an email at robandheather2004@live.co.uk.  If you live elsewhere and would like a local representative to drop you a brochure you should be able to request that here.

Leave a Reply

