hiatus.

Little Bo Peep has lost her sheep

and doesn’t know where to find them.

Leave them alone, and they’ll come home

wagging their tails behind them.

Profound I know. 

When I lost my blogging mojo recently, it took along with it my making mojo.  I love to make things – its the essence of creativity – to create.  For weeks I have not touched a knitting needle, have not once sat down at my sewing machine and have completely shunned my paint and sand paper in the garage.  There was absolutely to desire to do any of it.  I could just not be bothered.  But I knew that if I left it alone like little Bo Peep (she’s such a wise old soul!) rather than pushing it, it would come back to me.

So I made peace with the idea of a creative hiatus.  And then, the other day I took a nap in the afternoon because my legs were hurting, and when I woke up – there it was again.  I started to finish off the bunting in the kitchen, experimented with painting some spare cupboard doors, and took to the fire surround with some sandpaper.  And it felt very good indeed.

I’m an all or nothing kind of gal.  This is not necessarily a good thing.  It’s not a bad thing either.  But it means that when I go for something, it’s full throttle until I start running on empty.  Is that a completely mixed up metaphor(s) or what?!?! So for me, some rest time is good –it recharges me.

When I was sitting watching Ruby play with her Peppa Pig toys yesterday, and I pulled out my knitting and knew that I was indeed back in the zone.

DSCF3007

There are recipe’s to put up around here, a very easy it worked for me project and so much more in between.

It’s my birthday in a couple of days which means I have only one year to complete my Challenge 30…Its not looking good. Looks like it’ll be a busy 12 months!

I was chatting with my brother in law yesterday and it got me thinking how random my blog is because I jump about from DIY to Jesus to knitting to baking to our insanely packed life with two littlies.  I guess that does alienate a whole load of readers that would only be interested in one aspect on this blog.  But then I figured I’m ok with that.  If I even began thinking about writing around what I thought people might want to read, I’d soon get bored and lose my writing integrity.

And what would life be like without writing integrity I ask you!?

Ok, too much time  indulging myself in photos of writing.  My list of jobs will not do themselves.

Leave a Reply

