painting tiles?

So I’ve had this problem with our kitchen.

It’s nothing personal.  We were not destined to be together that’s all.  I’m just not the shiny silvery leafy tile type. I had to wade through months and months of photographs to actually find a one with one of these tiles on and there was much cropping and zooming.

The offending tiles are surrounded plain white unoffensive tiles.  The quickest, easiest and cheapest fix’it was to get me some tile paint.  I’d still see the leaf but it will be hiding behind a sheet of white.

I am no DIY expert.  In fact I’m pretty clueless.  I probably should have researched the appropriate method of painting tiles but I was way too impulsive and impatient for that.  Instead I made my own rules up, and told myself I know exactly what I’m doing.

First, of course, I grabbed the good ol’ masking tape to seal of the edges.

Next up I needed to protect the white tiles.

Now don’t be intimidated by the technique.  I promise you, with the right equipment and lots of practice you can totally pull this off.

Take a couple of carrier bags and rip ’em up.

Fix the carrier bag pieces on the white tiles around the offending-about-to-be whitewashed silver leaf tile.  Masking tape is preferrable but if you run out half way through like I did you can just get crazy with the cellotape.

The angles must be just right.  And the right amount of tape must be used.  How loose the carrierbag is – something I like to call ‘the waftage’ – should be calculated accurately.

And that is how it should be done my friends.  All ready to paint.  You have a choice between brushing the tiles with paint or using a spray can.  Small tins of tile paint were about £18, so I went for the cheaper option (£10) of the spray can.  I thought it would be easier too, no brush strokes to stress about.  Bye bye silver…

Here’s some things not to do when painting tiles:

Do not rip off the masking tape carelessly, and thus ripping half of the new white coating off the tile (I was really surprised about the texture of the dried paint, it’s like a rubbery plastic coating.  At least it was a couple hours after drying.  I’ve not touched any of them since for fear of ruining more tiles).

Do not go through all the preparation, spraying, drying, spraying again, drying again and removing the plastic bags, only to find one still-very-silver rogue tile that must have been hiding the whole time.  Guess who has to get the carrier bags out again…!

Do not decide to spray paint in the kitchen just before you need to start making tea.  That stuff stinks! It’s not even a painty smell –  it’s a chemically/plasticky burns-your-inner-nose adour that requires a lot of ventilation.

Apart from that, jobs a good’n.

Leave a Reply

