tortoise.

Yesterday afternoon the girls had been playing in the garden and in between our house and next door’s house.  Once the girls’ friends had gone out th girls were back to being confined to our house and garden.  Us grownups were gettting on with boring grownup jobs and It dawned on me it was very quiet on the Ruby front.  Ruby is rarely quiet so this hits my mummy-radar.  The husband said that she was outside so when I went outside and couldn’t find her, a really uncomfortable knot formed in my tummy.  I started calling her name a little louder.  I called the Husbands name even louder. He is upstairs, insisting that she was playing with Chloe.  Chloe is standing in the hallway with me, sans Ruby.  I go back into the garden again and back into each room downstairs, quickly starting to feel very sick.  Then The Husband calls me.  He doesn’t sound worried anymore so I relax a little.  He tells me to come upstairs.  I do, and find this.

Image

ImageImage

Sometimes there are no words for Ruby.  I have no idea how long she had been a ‘tortoise’ for.  But I didn’t care, as long as she was a tortoise with me.

One thought on “tortoise.

Leave a Reply

