April.

A quarter way through 2012.  The weather has been teasing us with glimpses of summer and causing optimists to don their shorts.  The sunshine is serious medicine for all ailments.  I read a blog this week that said if there were to be a tangible way for God to hug us it would feel a bit like standing in the sunshine.  I like that.  I’m declaring April to be a good month.  It will still require patience and grace and good old fashioned hard work, but I’m stepping limping into it with a glass-half-full attitude. For us as a family it will be the month for:

Decorating.  We’ve made the decision to take the plunge and work through the whole of the downstairs.  You know that difficult decision where to repaint the woodwork up to?  It runs through the whole house so you do a door, and then right next to the door looks grubby so you do that skirting board, but then the next door needs doing, and urgh!!  We’ve been really fortunate that we’ve been in this house for six years and because it was in such good condition when we moved in we havnt’ needed to do anything (we have done stuff – but we didn’t need to).  But now, everything’s looking a bit worn and tired.  It just means it’s been thoroughly lived in – I mean everyone has shoe prints on their walls, right?  Plus we ripped out half the kitchen a little while ago…We should really do something about that.  The plasterer will be here next Tuesday and that will mark the start of the big makeover.  No doubt we will be pulling in our youth group for some good ol’ child labour.

Frugal Living. How many times a week can you get away with feeding your kids pasta? Five? six? Kidding. Kind of.  But we’re going to be spending cash only, and seriously asking Martin Lewis’ question of do I really need it? I hate that.  Do I really need it?  No I don’t need that cute pair of earrings and no I realise I do not need that magazine… Uh.  A little while ago we were talking with our youth group about anger and what really ticks uss off.  The Husband said it makes him really mad that decisions should not be based on money but so many are.  Perspective Heather, perspective.  So thrifty will be the word this month, and we’ll pursue it with smiles on our faces.

knitting. I could sit and get lost in Ravelry for a whole evening but I find lovely patterns then they’re all on circular needles, and I don’t know how to use them yet! When I was last in my local knitting shop the lady was talking me through knitting a cardigan for Chloe.  I really want to make her one for her 6th birthday, and the knitting lady (I should really find out her name!) said it would be way easier to start with a child’s cardigan if you’ve not done one before.  So I’ll get on with that soon.  It won’t be long before I start looking around for christmas present Ideas.  That’s weird I know.

DIY. This is linked with the thriftiness I guess.  When you don’t have surplus money to buy nice things, you go and make them yourself.  I’ve started making up some bunting from old clothes,  I’m making the girls some sweet stuffed toys and I’m going to make me a chalk board (I know that’s bad grammar, I was saying/writing it in a southern american accent.  Of course.)!

Physical Wellbeing.  This is a risky one.  Of course there’s no guarantees.  But I’m speaking out my faith that God can just heal me like that (I just clicked my fingers).  The bible tells us about a horrid king (I’m paraphrasing) threatening some God-followers with the fiery furnace if they didn’t bow down and worship him and idols.  They said this:

“The God we serve is able to deliver us from it, and he will deliver us from Your Majesty’s hand. But even if he does not, we want you to know, Your Majesty, that we will not serve your gods or worship the image of gold you have set up.”

How awesome is that?? Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego – cool names guys, and I salute you for your attitude. I know God is good.  And he is so able.  I don’t get it but still I trust.  And even if my back continues to hurt I am choosing not to turn my face from his.

There is stuff in my control though.  I’m pretty sure the extra ‘chocolate’ weight I’m carrying around me won’t help my back, so it’s back to that old chestnut! I think I’m possibly the worlds worst yo-yo diet-er.  Today my back tooth (that should have been taken out two years ago) has started to hurt right down to my jaw.  I think this eating deterrent, though not invited, may help to stop me eating junk food!

So how is April going to be for you?

One thought on “April.

  1. Fantastic goods from you, man. I have take into account your stuff previous to and you are simply too wonderful. I really like what you’ve acquired here, really like what you’re saying and the way by which you assert it. You are making it entertaining and you still care for to keep it smart. I can not wait to learn much more from you. That is actually a tremendous site.

Leave a Reply

