A title that has no title because I’m too sleepy to think of one.


This weekend the leadership of our church (and wives/husband) got away for a kind of vision/evaluation weekend. We stayed at Summer Hill Country House enjoying the wonderful hospitality of Mike and Patsy Derry, who were for a long time an integral part of the Emmanuel community.  With not even a hint of mere politeness, I cannot recommend this place enough.  A jaw-droppingly stunning building, great food and a meticulous attention to detail all make it the perfect get-away.  And no I’m not on commission.

On the Friday morning I went to talk to my GP about my sciatica since my physio is out of ideas.  So I’m going back to the consultant.  When the GP gently brought in the idea of surgery I tried hard to keep my cool.  Although I felt sick it didn’t come as a surprise.  I’ve been asking myself ‘what if’ for a few weeks now, knowing that sciatica should normally have settled itself by now.  But it’s not in the immediate future so I’m trying to throw it right to the back of my mind.  Another thing the GP wanted to talk about was how to optimise my pain relief.  Because I’ve been feeling more scatty and forgetful from the medication, he wants to pinpoint the culprit.  He thinks it’s the pregabalin so to find out he’s doubled my dose.  That’s one way of doing it.  Friday lunchtime I took double pregabalin and it hit me like a tonne of bricks.  I felt dizzy, nauseous and completely spaced out.  If this is what taking drugs is like then I totally don’t get the appeal.  Teenagers Don’t do it!! you’ll only just vomit and wreck your party clothes!! Anyway, I digress.  So I call up the doctor’s surgery in my drug induced state begging to get a phone consultation with my GP to ask if I could lower my dose again.  When the receptionist said that wasn’t possible I burst into tears and she put through an urgent priority query.  When I called back later the GP has left a message telling me to stick with it or perhaps drop one tablet. Uh!!! Which takes us back to the weekend away.  Did I mention we stayed at a lovely guest house?  You’d really love it…

Cutting a long story short I tried the dose again on Saturday – it was awful again, and I spent most of the afternoon sleeping.  At this point The Husband put his foot down saying this couldn’t go on.  The annoying point is that in the evening my back went into spasm.  I had a bag of frozen sweetcorn to put across my back and that eased it massively.  Today I took my original dose and I’ll deal with the doctor tomorrow.  I know he’s got another plan up his sleeve and so guessing that my medication will change again over the next week and Rob being away with work I’ve called in the cavalry.  When I say cavalry I mean my mummy.

Despite the sciatica, the weekend away was restful and refreshing.  There was space to think and regain perspective on everything that amounts to my world.  So with help at hand, I’m ready to make this a good week.

Five things I’ll try not to do this week:

– moan too much about being in pain

– Eat chocolate and crisps

– Let the laundry mount up

– watch too much Desperate housewives

– Overwork my back

Five things I’ll really try to do this week:

laugh every day

– knit every day

– take a load of photographs

– remember to do my physio

– cross off something on my work’s to-do list before I add more on

Knitting? Yes knitting.  I’m 28 and I love to knit.  This is the new love of my life and I’ll be writing more about it it soon. I’ll be putting up my challenge 52 photos up soon.  I’ll be putting some more recipes up here soon…But for now a hot water bottle, a good book and a cosy bed await me.

Leave a Reply

